top of page
  • Writer's pictureBelinda

Sweet Swan Pocket and Journal Card

This is my April project for "A Perfect Time To Craft" and I was working with the lovely digital set, "Swan Lake Clipart and Patterns Bundle" from theHungryJPeg.


This set is full of lovely pastel pieces featuring swans. The set also includes pretty elements to layer up to create your own unique design, and includes: water lillies, flowers, moths, and more. The set also includes frames and background patterns.


I chose to make a page-sized library pocket and a matching journal card. The end result is oh, so pretty, and has quite a romantic vibe to it.


Let's take a look at the finished make...


Swan themed library pocket and matching journal card trimmed with lace
Swan Lake Pocket and Journal Card

The pocket was formed from one of the pattern pages and is almost the size of an A5 page.

For the decoration I printed off several elements and fussy cut around them. I could have layered them digitally, but chose to go the manual route. Partly I wanted to play with the various pieces and see what composition pleased me more. I also cut out the movement lines on the water and cut them to suit.


For the pocket I went with just the three elements from the set - the swan, water, and water lily. These were layered over top of some sheet music. To finish off I trimmed the bottom of the pocket with white lace and added a printable label purchased from Shabby Cottage Studio on Etsy.


The journal card was made with one of the frame compositions that is part of the set. It is perfectly lovely and would have looked great as it was. However, in the name of making it my own, I added two fussy cut water lillies to the bottom left hand side. I also added lace at the top, one of my own labels layered over a strip of sheet music. The back of the card is covered with brown paper for writing on and the edges of both the card and pocket have been inked with Vintage Photo Distress Ink.


This kit is so pretty and makes bringing together a paper crafting project so simple, yet also very adpatable and can be customised to suit your preferences and the purpose.


Large page pocket and journal card with swan motif
Swan themed Pocket with Journal Card

Stay inspired, creative friends. :)

Belinda

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page