top of page
  • Writer's pictureBelinda

Wander often, Wonder Always

Updated: Mar 14, 2023

My March project for the "A Perfect Time to Craft Challenge" was working with a fun image from SheepSki Designs. The image can be purchased here: Wanderer


I find this image to be evocative of freedom, summer, fresh air, and adventure. It held great appeal to me and I wanted to do it justice.


Since I am a journal maker, I chose to make it into a large pocket for a journal page. The steps of my process can be found below the image if you would like to know how I brought this piece together. 😉



Woman hiking facing a directional signpost
Journal Page with large pocket



  • To begin with I printed the image out onto white 220gsm card stock at the appropriate size to fit my journal page (which is A5).

  • Coloured the image using Staedtler doubled-ended markers. A silver metallic gel pen was used for the walking pole and the sunglasses.

  • Fussy cut around the top and sides of the image, leaving it straight across the bottom, but trimmed up to the edge of the design.

  • For the background I printed off one of my watercolour backgrounds to act as a cloudy sky. I chose the portion from the A4 page that I wanted to use and cut it to size.

  • The edge of she sky background was torn to give an interesting top edge and then inked with distress ink along top and sides.

  • From my stash of stamps I stamped the signpost and appropriate words onto each board. I chose to only colour the post so that the words were clearly visible.

  • The main image was sat in place so I could work out the where to position the signpost. The signpost was then glued to the background.

  • Wanderer image glued onto the background.

  • Finally, a thin line of glue along the bottom edge and down both sides and affixed to the journal page.







Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page