top of page
  • Writer's pictureBelinda

Sweet African Violets

Hello all. Here is my latest project for the "A Perfect Time To Craft Challenge" for May.


In this post I get to share the beautiful digital stamp image from Fred, She Said. I used the "African Violets DIGI SET (Outlines)", but it is also available from Tracey's website in a pre-coloured set, which includes background papers to coordinate with the images.



I coloured the image in Photoshop using layers and blend modes to create some highlights and shadows. It didn't take me very long to do and I am pleased with the results.


I chose to use the image on a simple journal card, ready to be popped into a pocket or tuck spot in a future journal. I love the look of this card with the hero totally being the African Violets.


The base of the journal card is a neutral collage of book page/sheet music cut from a masterboard I had on hand. I backed the card with Kraft paper so the back can be written on. Layers of scrapbook paper featuring both torn and straight edges adds visual interest. The words are from my printable kit "Vertical Words Plus" on Etsy, layered with music and scrapbook paper. Everything was inked in Vintage Photo Distress Ink as that is my preferred aesthetic. Easily adapt it to no inking or in any complementary ink colour of choice.


This look is very suitable for adapting onto a greeting card. It could be created separately, as I have done, and dimensionally mounted onto a card base, or composed straight onto the card front. Multiple options for the creative soul.



Scrap journal card  with African Violets
African Violets Journal Card

Thanks for coming to check out my blog.


Have a happy crafting day. :)

Belinda




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page